Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Sayles takes mini-modified race

July 27, 2011
Lake Placid News
PLATTSBURGH — Ted Christopher of Plainville, Conn. took the lead on lap 20 and drew off to a convincing win the ISMA Supermodified Della Auto Group 50 at Airborne Speedway on Saturday, July 23.

It was the third career win in seven supermodified starts for the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour ace.

“This is my first time here,” Christopher said in victory lane. “It’s a great race track. You could run all over the place. There are so many areas on the track you can use.”

Erick Sayles of Lake Placid was the NAPA Mini Modified winner after taking the lead late in the race.

The red flag was thrown on the first lap of the Mini Modified feature to assist Josh LaVarnway, who had to be cut out of his car to receive medical attention. When racing resumed, Josh LeClaire took control for several laps before Sayles gained the lead for good.

Positions 2-3-4-5 went to LeClaire, Justin Doner, Josh LaPorte and John Bradley.

The supermodified race was red-flagged on lap 15 when last year’s winner Russ Wood broke an axle and lost a wheel on the front stretch. On the restart, Christopher sat third behind the front row of Rob Summers and Danny Lane and used the inside lane to gain the lead.

“I didn’t really have a plan, but my car was really good on the bottom side. That’s what I used to get by Robbie (Summers),” Christopher said.

Summers held off a charge from Canadian Mark Sammut to take second place. Chris deRitis of Philadelphia, Pa., had a career-best fourth-place finish. Tim Jederzjek of Independence, Ohio rallied late for fifth. Former NEMA Midget champion Ben Seitz of Bourne, Mass., placed sixth.

Jeff Locke of Raymond, N.H. finished 10th after setting a new Airborne single-lap record (13.867 seconds) in his qualifying heat. Six-time ISMA champion Chris Perley struggled with fuel-injection issues and finished 15th.

Robert Gordon won the Versatile Trailer Renegade feature. It was the Milton, Vt. driver’s fifth win. Lance Rabtoy was a close second, followed by Kevin Boutin, Curtis Seymour Jr. and Don Franklin.

Johnmichael Bresette of Keeseville won his first Busch Bomber feature.

Article Photos

Photo by Andy Watts
Erick Sayles of Lake Placid poses in victory lane after winning the mini modified feature at Airborne Speedway on Saturday, July 23.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web