Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

ADK 80K racers tackle Van Ho trails

September 6, 2013
By the News staff ( , Lake Placid News

LAKE PLACID - Matt Boobar and Scotie Jacobs were the top solo finishers at last weekend's inaugural ADK 80K event at the High Peaks Mountain Bike Center at Mount Van Hoevenberg.

Jacobs of Freeville was crowned the trail running winner Saturday after completing the 80-kilometer, four-loop course in 8 hours, 1 minute and 48 seconds. Christine Tokarz of Melrose was the second overall solo finisher with a time of 8:33:31. Drew Haas of Jay was third with a time of 9:06:50 and Carlos Carrasquillo was fourth in 9:12:36.

Team High Peaks Cyclery won the four-person mixed relay with a time of 8:03:43. The team consisted of Colin Delaney, Mitch Miller, Karen Delaney and Bill Zeller.

Article Photos

Matt Boobar of Stratton Mountain, Vt. crosses the finish to win the solo men’s title
Photo by Jason Hicks-Moriarty

Jacob Hadden and Angie Sussdorff of Keeseville took the mixed two-person crown after completing the course in 9:14:24.

Mountain bikers and cyclocross racers took on the same course on Sunday. Boobar, of Stratton Mountain, Vt., was the overall solo winner with a time of 4:39:02 to beat out Mark Walters of Webster who finished in 4:43:21.

Bryna Blanchard of Troy won the women's solo bike title with her 5:24:24 performance. Tamara Tarbell of Afton was second in 6:35:53 and Margaret Thompson of Clinton was third in 6:57:43.

Dominic Cilento of Maryland and Ruth Sherman of Spencer were the only solo cyclocrossers to complete the course. Sherman finished in 5:48:58 and Cilento crossed the line in 7:07:26.

Edward Watkins and Andy Gilpin won the two-person male mountain biking race in 6:12:28, while Brian Banks and Jennifer Dean topped the mixed field with a time of 5:57:00.

Robert Dadekian and Tom Butler teamed up in the male cyclocross race and finished in 5:27:12. Donald Massonne and Jennifer Harvey took the mixed cyclocross title in 6:23:31.

The team of Chris Rose, Brian Delaney, Jim Kobak and Bob Maswick teamed up to complete the mountain biking course in 5:22:00.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web