Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Junior nationals competitors in ESWG luge

February 11, 2014
Lake Placid News

LAKE PLACID - The 34th Empire State Winter Games featured several members of the United States Junior National Luge Team who recently competed at the Junior World Championships in Igls, Austria.

Those athletes include Riley Stohr, Jonny Gustafson, Tristan Jeskanen, Raychel Germaine, Gracie Weinberg, Hannah Miller and Katy Simi.

In the Junior Men's division, Stohr of Whitehall, Mich., was able to fend off Gustafson to win the gold medal. Stohr put together heats of 46.331 and 46.161 seconds for a total time of 1 minute, 32.492 seconds. Gustafson of Massena, finished with a total time of 1:32.970, 0.478 seconds behind Stohr.

Elijah Pedriani of New Haven, Vt., was able to capture the bronze medal with a total time of 1:35.270. Nik Steg of Saratoga Springs finished fourth and Tristan Jeskanen of Peru finished fifth.

The Junior Women's race was won by Germaine of Roswell, Ga. She put together runs of 45.638 and 45.152 for a total time of 1:30.790 to edge Weinberg for the gold. Weinberg of Middlebury, Vt., finished 0.461 seconds back to claim the silver. Miller of Rome joined Germaine and Weinberg on the podium after finishing in third place to earn the bronze medal.

Brittany Arndt of Park City, Utah finished in fourth place just 0.267 seconds behind Miller. Simi of Park City, Utah rounded out the top five.

Liam Chaskey of Plattsburgh, put together runs of 45.937 and 46.697 for a total time of 1:32.634 to win the Youth A Men's race. Chaskey edged out Sean Hollander and Blake Hagberg to earn the win. Hollander of Lake Placid, won the silver after posting times of 46.419 and 46.404 for a total of 1:32.823 to finish 0.189 seconds behind Chaskey. Hagberg of Utica, finished at 1:33.012, 0.378 seconds out of first place.

Sydney Axton of Port Byron won the Youth A Women's race on Saturday. Axton's time of 1:31.928 was 0.985 seconds ahead of Katherine Bishop of Carlisle, Mass. Axton put together times of 46.073 and 45.855 while Bishop was right behind with times of 46.505 and 46.408 seconds. Lucy Jenkins rounded out the top three, by capturing the bronze medal in a time of 1:33.653.

In addition to Youth B Men and Women, Youth B/C Mixed and Masters races.

Duncan Segger of Lake Placid raced to a total time of 1:33.860 after heats of 46.893 and 46.967 seconds to win the Youth B Men's gold medal. In a field of 14 sleds, Ryan Lubetski of Sweet Valley, Pa. was able to claim the silver medal, finishing 0.596 seconds behind Segger. Rounding out the podium was Evan Schiefelbein of Indianapolis with the bronze medal.

In the Youth B Women's race, Kaylee Thomas of North Chelms, Mass., edged out Emeline Cave of Philpot, Ky., by 0.016 seconds to win the gold. Thomas slid to almost identical times in her two runs at 47.692 and 47.648 for a total time of 1:35.340.

Cave improved on her first run's time of 47.904, by 0.452 seconds, but that was not enough to overcome Thomas' consistency. Chevonne Forgan of Chelmsford, Mass., was clocked in at 1:35.734 to finish in third place and received the bronze medal. Thomas, Cave and Forgan were separated by only 0.394 seconds in a tightly contested race.

In the Youth B/C Mixed race, Anders Klinkenberg was able to claim the gold medal. With times of 35.643 and 35.504 seconds, Klinkenberg was able to finish 0.677 seconds ahead of Kate Barry. Barry put together a first-run best time of 34.752, but faltered a bit in her second run with a time of 37.072. The final spot on the podium and the bronze medal was claimed by Payton Thurston with a total time of 1:13.220 which was 2.073 seconds behind Klinkenberg's winning time of 1:11.147.

In the final racing category, Jesse Arndt of Park City, Utah, won the Masters race. Arndt raced to times of 45.621 and 45.742 seconds for a total time of 1:31.363. Bruce Norman clocked in at 1:31.565 after heats of 45.845 and 45.720 seconds, just 0.202 seconds away from the gold medal. Bill Dearborn was able to finish in third place to take the final podium spot with a final time of 1:31.804.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web