Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Nominate a Tri-Lakes Volunteer of the Year

January 19, 2018
Editorial , Lake Placid News

Hundreds of functions in the North Country depend on volunteerism. People are fed and clothed, the ill are cared for, fires are extinguished, artists' work is promoted, libraries are maintained, events are planned and the natural environment is curated by volunteers.

In March, as usual, the Lake Placid News and Adirondack Daily Enterprise will honor a particularly service-oriented local resident as the Tri-Lakes Volunteer of the Year, we need your help nominating people who deserve the honor.

Each of the Tri-Lakes villages has its own volunteer awards, but this is the only one for the entire region.

The Volunteer of the Year should be someone who has made a real, active commitment to helping out in his or her community. It could either be someone who helps in many areas or someone who has fulfilled a strong commitment to one program for a long time. It could be someone whose volunteerism is measured in decades or someone who made huge contributions in the past year. He or she cannot receive any material compensation for this work.

Wednesday, Feb. 7 is the deadline for us to receive nominations. Your nomination should contain a written description of the volunteer work your nominee does and why you think the person deserves the award. Our staff will then choose a winner from among your suggestions.

Submit your nomination to Enterprise Managing Editor Peter Crowley at You can also drop it off at 54 Broadway, Saranac Lake; fax it to 518-891-2756; or mail it to Volunteer of the Year, Adirondack Daily Enterprise, P.O. Box 318, Saranac Lake, NY 12983. Put "Volunteer of the Year" at the top.

A story about the winning volunteer, along with a thorough directory of local resources, will appear in the Community Resource Guide, which will be distributed inside our newspapers.

Here are the past Volunteers of the Year:

2017 Vivian Smith

2016 Sue Patterson

2015 Jim LaValley

2014 Gloria Drucker

2013 (No award given)

2012 Linda Young

2011 Dmitry Feld

2010 Virginia Bristol

2009 Katie Fischer

2008 Cherie Fisher

2007 Roland Patnode

2006 Natalie Leduc

2005 Joy Harvey

2004 Paulann Andrews

2003 Bob McKillip

2002 Marjorie McLaughlin

2001 Lora Brown

2000 Conni Cross

1999 John Howard

1998 Tom Scheefer

1997 Rip Allen

1996 Rick Knapton

1995 Jim Rollier

1994 Frank Morrison

1993 Dan and Issy Cassell

1992 Ruth Miller

1991 Gary Ryther

We hope reading these names does for you what it does for us - reminds you of how good all these hard-working people are, and inspires you to try to follow in their footsteps.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web