Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS
 
 
 

Korea Standard Time

Pyeongchang Winter Olympics are 14 hours ahead of Lake Placid

February 9, 2018
By ANDY FLYNN - Editor (aflynn@lakeplacidnews.com) , Lake Placid News

LAKE PLACID - Residents here in the Eastern Time (ET) zone watching live coverage of the Olympic Winter Games in Pyeongchang - either on television or on the internet - will have to subtract 14 hours from the times the events are held in South Korea, as Korea Standard Time (KST) is 14 hours ahead of New York state.

For example, when the U.S. Curling Team begins its Mixed Doubles match against Switzerland at 8:05 a.m. Friday, Feb. 9 in Pyeongchang, it is only 6:05 p.m. Thursday in Lake Placid. The opening ceremony starts at 8 p.m. KST on Feb. 9 or 6 a.m. ET.

The competition program for Pyeongchang includes six new events: snowboard big air (men's and women's), speedskating mass start (men's and women's), curling mixed doubles and the alpine team event. In all, the total number of gold medal events will be 102, the most ever contested at an Olympic Winter Games to date.

Below is the first week's schedule. We've only included medal events and USA team events. The full schedule can be found online at www.pyeongchang2018.com.

---

Friday, Feb. 9

---

USA team events

-Curling: Mixed Doubles - USA vs. Switzerland - 6:05 p.m. ET Thursday (8:05 a.m. KST Friday)

-Curling: Mixed Doubles - USA vs. Republic of Korea - 11:35 p.m. ET Thursday (1:35 p.m. KST Friday)

Opening ceremony

-Olympic Stadium - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

---

Saturday, Feb. 10

---

Medal competition

-Biathlon: Women's 7.5km Sprint - 6:15 a.m. ET (8:15 p.m. KST)

-Cross-Country Skiing: Ladies' 7.5km + 7.5km Skiathlon - 2:15 a.m. ET (4:15 p.m. KST)

-Short-track Speedskating: Men's 1,500m (final heat) - 7:28 a.m. ET (9:28 p.m. KST)

-Ski Jumping: Men's Normal Hill Individual - 8:35 a.m. ET (10:35 p.m. KST)

-Speedskating: Ladies' 3,000m - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

USA team events

-Curling: Mixed Doubles - USA vs. China - 7:05 p.m. ET Friday (9:05 a.m. KST Saturday)

-Curling: Mixed Doubles - USA vs. Norway - 6:05 a.m. ET (8:05 p.m. KST)

---

Sunday, Feb. 11

---

Medal competition

-Alpine Skiing: Men's Downhill - 9 p.m. ET Saturday (11 a.m. KST Sunday)

-Biathlon: Men's 10km Sprint - 6:15 a.m. ET (8:15 p.m. KST)

-Cross-Country Skiing: Men's 15km + 15km Skiathlon - 1:15 a.m. ET (3:15 p.m. KST)

-Freestyle Skiing: Ladies' Moguls (final run) - 8:10 a.m. ET (10:10 p.m. KST)

-Luge: Men's Singles (Runs 3/4) - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

-Snowboard: Men's Slopestyle (final run) - 9:04 p.m. ET Saturday (11:04 a.m. KST Sunday)

-Speedskating: Men's 5,000m - 2 a.m. ET (4 p.m. KST)

USA team events

-Curling: Mixed Doubles - USA vs. Finland - 7:05 p.m. ET Saturday (9:05 a.m. KST Sunday)

-Ice Hockey: Women - USA vs. Finland - 2:40 a.m. ET (4:40 p.m. KST)

---

Monday, Feb. 12

---

Medal competition

-Alpine Skiing: Ladies' Giant Slalom - 11:45 p.m. ET Sunday (1:15 p.m. KST Monday)

-Biathlon: Women's 10km Pursuit - 5:10 a.m. ET (7:10 p.m. KST)

-Biathlon: Men's 12.5km Pursuit - 7 a.m. ET (9 p.m. KST)

-Figure Skating: Team Ice Dance Free Dance - 10:20 p.m. ET Sunday (12:20 p.m. KST Monday)

-Freestyle Skiing: Men's Moguls - 8:10 a.m. ET (10:10 p.m. KST)

-Ski Jumping: Ladies' Normal Hill Individual (final round) - 8:35 a.m. ET (10:35 p.m. KST)

-Snowboard: Ladies' Slopestyle (final run) - 9:06 p.m. ET Sunday (11:06 a.m. KST Monday)

-Speedskating: Ladies' 1,500m - 7:30 a.m. ET (9:30 p.m. KST)

---

Tuesday, Feb. 13

---

Medal competition

-Alpine Skiing: Men's Alpine Combined Slalom - 1 a.m. ET (3 p.m. KST)

-Cross-Country Skiing: Ladies' Sprint Classic (final) - 7:25 a.m. ET (9:25 p.m. KST)

-Cross-Country Skiing: Men's Sprint Classic (final) - 7:34 a.m. ET (9:34 p.m. KST)

-Luge: Women's Singles (Runs 3/4) - 5:30 a.m. ET (7:30 p.m. KST)

-Short-track Speedskating: Ladies' 500m (final heat) - 7:11 a.m. ET (9:11 p.m. KST)

-Snowboard: Ladies' Halfpipe (final run) - 9 p.m. ET Monday (11 a.m. KST Tuesday)

-Speedskating: Men's 1,500m - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

-Curling: Mixed Doubles (bronze medal game) - 7:05 p.m. ET Monday (9:05 a.m. KST Tuesday)

-Curling: Mixed Doubles (gold medal game) - 6:05 a.m. ET (8:05 p.m. KST)

USA team events

-Ice Hockey: Women - USA vs. OAR (Olympic Athlete from Russia) - 7:10 a.m. ET (9:10 p.m. KST)

---

Wednesday, Feb. 14

---

Medal competition

-Alpine Skiing: Ladies' Slalom (final run) - 11:45 p.m. ET Tuesday (1:45 p.m. KST Wednesday)

-Biathlon: Women's 15km Individual - 6:05 a.m. ET (8:05 p.m. KST)

-Luge: Doubles (Runs1/2) - 6:20 a.m. ET (8:20 p.m. KST)

-Nordic Combined: Gundersen NH/10km XC - 3:45 a.m. ET (5:45 p.m. KST)

-Snowboard: Men's Halfpipe (final run) - 9:30 p.m. ET Tuesday (11:30 a.m. KST Wednesday)

-Speedskating: Ladies' 1,000m - 5 a.m. ET (7 p.m. KST)

USA team events

-Curling: Men - USA vs. Republic of Korea - 7:05 p.m. ET Tuesday (9:05 a.m. KST Wednesday)

-Curling: Women: USA vs. Japan - 12:05 a.m. ET (2:05 p.m. KST)

-Ice Hockey: Men - USA vs. Slovenia - 7:10 a.m. ET (9:10 p.m. KST)

---

Thursday, Feb. 15

---

Medal competition

-Alpine Skiing: Men's Super-G - 9 p.m. ET Wednesday (11 a.m. KST Thursday)

-Biathlon: Men's 20km Individual - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

-Cross-Country Skiing: Ladies' 10km Free - 1:30 a.m. ET (3:30 p.m. KST)

-Figure Skating: Pair Skating/Free Skating - 8:30 p.m. ET Wednesday (10:30 a.m. KST Thursday)

-Luge: Team Relay - 7:30 a.m. ET (9:30 p.m. KST)

-Snowboard: Men's Snowboard Cross (big final) - 12:45 a.m. ET (2:45 p.m. KST)

-Speedskating: Men's 10,000m - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

USA team events

-Curling: Women - USA vs. Great Britain - 7:05 p.m. ET Wednesday (9:05 a.m. KST Thursday)

-Curling: Women - USA vs. Switzerland - 6:05 a.m. ET (8:05 p.m. KST)

-Ice Hockey: Women: USA vs. Canada - 9:10 p.m. ET Wednesday (11:10 a.m. KST Thursday)

---

Friday, Feb. 16

---

Medal competition

-Cross-Country Skiing: Men's 15km Free - 1 a.m. ET (3 p.m. KST)

-Freestyle Skiing: Ladies' Aerials (final run) - 6:52 a.m. ET (8:52 p.m. KST)

-Skeleton: Men (Runs 3/4) - 7:30 p.m. ET Thursday (9:30 a.m. KST Friday)

-Snowboard: Ladies' Snowboard Cross (big final) - 10:56 p.m. ET Thursday (12:56 p.m. KST Friday)

-Speedskating: Ladies' 5,000m - 6 a.m. ET (8 p.m. KST)

USA team events

-Curling: Men - USA vs. Sweden - 7:05 p.m. ET Thursday (9:05 a.m. KST Friday)

-Curling: Men - USA vs. Denmark - 6:05 a.m. ET (8:05 p.m. KST)

-Ice Hockey: Men - USA vs. Slovakia - 10:10 p.m. ET Thursday (12:10 p.m. KST Friday)

 
 

 

I am looking for:
in:
News, Blogs & Events Web