Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | News | Local News | Contact Us | Home RSS

Congrats to the Lake Placid Hall of Fame Class of 2019

November 1, 2019
Editorial , Lake Placid News

Congratulations to the four people inducted into the Lake Placid Hall of Fame on Saturday, Oct. 26 - former Olympic Regional Development Authority Board Chairman Pat Barrett, former ski shop owner/operator Francis Thaire Bryant, Nordic combined Olympic medalist Billy Demong and current Lake Placid Mayor Craig Randall, who represents the village of Lake Placid locally and on the world stage at Olympic host city meetings.

All are wonderful additions to the Lake Placid Hall of Fame, which can be visited at the Olympic Center, in the hallway between the 1932 Rink and the Conference Center. And all have contributed greatly to Lake Placid's winter sports tradition.

The hall of fame is a fitting way to recognize the accomplishments of area citizens in bettering Lake Placid. It began in 1983 and has inducted more than 140 individuals, as well as the members of the 1948 U.S. Olympic four-man bobsled team and the 1980 U.S. Olympic hockey team.

To be considered for induction into the Lake Placid Hall of Fame, people need to be current or past residents of the Olympic region or have a significant connection to the area. All nominees must have made significant sports, cultural or civic contributions to the region, or their endeavors must have enhanced the historical heritage of the area.

Inductees are selected by Hall of Fame Committee members. The 2019 Lake Placid Hall of Fame Committee members are Bob Birk, Sandy Caligiore, Mark Gilligan, Carol Hoffman, Emily Politi, Don McMullen, John Morgan, Tricia Preston and Jerry Strack.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web